Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 16th, 2017

I don’t often have a rant … and rarely about guests … but this weekend has tested me to my limits.

 

I’ve had many guests over the years who are smokers including members of my own family. They smoke outside, sometimes in the garden but usually out in the car park and to be fair, I can’t speak for the guests, but my own family even go outside to smoke in their own homes!

Smoking B&B guests are warmly welcomed.  I even provide a bucket of water or sand to put out cigarette ends and there’s a huge brolly at the door in case it’s raining … but I will not tolerate smoking in the bedrooms. Apart from it being against the law [Smoking, Health and Social Care (Scotland) Act 2005], the room smells of smoke for weeks and weeks and weeks afterwards because no matter how many times the room is cleaned, the smell, to a non-smoker, lingers.

Not only is it embarrassing to smokers who chose to both flout the law and disregard the “no smoking” signs in my home to be told to leave immediately but I also know that future guests in the room can, despite my apologies, vent their disgust at the smell on review pages which can be extremely damaging to business and reputation.

So please, if you smoke, you’ll be made extremely welcome but please adhere to the “no smoking” anywhere in the building policy, thank you.

I’m off now to wash the ceiling and walls in the bathroom that was smoked in, in an attempt to clear the smell … despite the fact that I’m banned from standing on ladders and chairs due to sciatica!

Cordelia @ Balkissock Lodge B&B 2017 (c)

Smoke free accommodation available

Read Full Post »

